h1

Is this the future?

October 13, 2008

I don’t know about you, but sometimes I go through phases of indifference to music.  While I still listen to it, it doesn’t move me and I’m really only pressing play out of habit.  And then a band comes along and shakes you out of your ennui.  Like the first time I heard Silent Alarm.

New Jersey’s Titus Andronicus have done something like that for me this weekend.  My ipod was skipping through some new music on random and out of my speakers blasted an epic of distorted fury – with a real tune half-hidden within it.

There’s something a little pretentious about this band: barely out of high school, with a band name ripped from an obscure Shakespeare play and song titles like “Upon Viewing Brueghel’s ‘Landscape With The Fall Of Icarus'”.  Lucky they’ve got the chops to live up to their own hype.

They’re like an angrier Broken Social Scene – all shambolic, noisy singalongs with a triumphalist vibe that makes you want to declare a national holiday.

If you’re looking for something to shake you out of your October blahs, I’m happy to give you my prescription.

Titus Andronicus – “No Future Part Two: The Day After No Future”

Leave a Reply

