h1

Best band in a supporting role

March 13, 2008

Support acts are a great way to discover new music. They are also occasionally a one-way ticket to the land of Suck. Saturday night at Jens Lekman, it was definitely the former.

Second-up for the night was Gary Olson, a name that meant nothing to me. It turns out he’s the lead singer of The Ladybug Transistor – Elephant 6ers from way back. Not a band I’d ever paid much attention to, but Gary’s rendition of their songs with an motley crew of musicians from other bands was stellar. Olson is a laid-back indie everyman, but his rich baritone makes me think of crooners from the olden days and his trumpeting is excellent.

I picked up the Transistor’s 2007 album and it’s a goodie. Especially the stand-out (for me) from his set the other night, “I’m Not Mad Enough”. Yet another example of why I show up to gigs before 9 pm.

The Ladybug Transistor – “I’m Not Mad Enough”

Leave a Reply

