h1

Covers Day

February 11, 2008
Deer Tick

Thank heavens for random shuffle on the old ipod, or I there are some songs I would never discover. I downloaded a bunch of music by Deer Tick (youngster John McCauley and friends) but I hadn’t really made it past their cover of Sean Kingston’s “Beautiful Girls” with its inspired trick-ending. Last night, their cover of Talking Heads’ “This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody)” came on and it pulled me out of my book with a start.

On the surface, Deer Tick are “just another indie band” – at least that would seem to be the assessment of the folks over at Bitchfork. Lots of jangly guitars, barely-on-key vocals and lower-than-lo-fi production. But there’s something in McCauley’s voice, a kind of desperation, that makes me think they deserve some attention.

But then, I’m a sucker for this kind of thing anyway.

Deer Tick – “This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody)” (Talking Heads cover)

Deer Tick – “Beautiful Girls” (Sean Kingston cover)

One comment

  1. favorited this one, bro



Leave a Reply

