h1

Ghost

November 12, 2007

I came quite late to Jason Molina’s Songs: Ohia project – after they’d already disbanded and Molina had moved on to other things, as it happened. I’ve made up for it recently by compulsively absorbing a heap of the band’s back-catalogue and it’s definitely worth the effort.

My favourite disc at the moment is the hard-to-obtain live album Mi sei apparso come un fantasma (“you came to me as a ghost” in Italian, I believe – or “six appeared to me like a ghost” according to Babelfish) simply because it’s the best expression of Molina’s Neil-Young-by-way-of-mogadon aesthetic I’ve found yet. It rocks out a lot more than much of Songs: Ohia’s music, it’s tuneful and it contains some amazing guitar work.

So if you’re in a sufficiently good mood to handle some seriously mopey country rock, click below.

Songs: Ohia – “It Won’t Be Easy”

Leave a Reply

